Seeking not high things

The psalmist asks God not to let himself be lifted up with matters far above him.

This is the problem of the amateur dilettante, of whom I was chief among sinners.  When I dallied forth into studying Orthodoxy almost a decade ago, I learned a few catchy phrases that I would throw at my Truly Reformed Opponents.  Don’t get me wrong.  We should certainly pin TRs to the wall, but I did so in a sinful manner.  And with folks who really weren’t TRs.

Truth is, I didn’t know what I was talking about.  I used words like “person/nature” or “simplicity” and tried to prove that x position is genealogically false.

I’ve since asked God for forgiveness.  But I also realized that there are areas where even if I am not an expert, I am familiar with the literature and currents of thought.  In these areas I can actually help people:

  1. Renaissance Occultic Magic and its current rebirth in the D.C./London/Vatican nexus.
  2. Russian history and geopolitics.
  3. Church Fathers (to an extent)
  4. Continental philosophy (Hegel, some Marx)
  5. Karl Barth
  6. Philosophical ethics

And contrary to the shrill inanity of Puritanboard, studying this stuff (especially 1-2, 4) is useful.  For me, anyway, since I’ve been able to use it in evangelism.  By the grace of God I’ve warned a number of people from dabbling in darkness and even rescued a few.

3 comments on “Seeking not high things

  1. cal says:

    I’m curious what you mean by “washington-london-vatican nexus’ for Hermetic magic, particularly the last. What’s the history of Hermeticism and the “occult” in the Vatican, and what historical scope are we talking about?

    Like

  2. JB Aitken says:

    Long story short Freemasons infiltrated and compromised the Vatican in the 20th century. Might go into more detail later.

    Like

Comments are closed.